Before’n’After #109 Interview – Christian Kaiser

Before'n'After #109 Interview – Christian Kaiser

Tell us a little bit about yourself and your everyday life

I'm 38 years old and I work as a group leader in the financial industry. I currently live in North Rhine-Westphalia and work in Stuttgart – so I spend a lot of time on the ICE as part of my weekend commute. Against this background, the efficient design of the training is particularly important to me - time is just short. I have been active in sports for many years. Formerly a long-distance runner with a focus on the 10,000m distance. My coach at the time brought me to the 400m sprint and thus also to strength training, which has continued to this day.

How did you come across the Before'n'After program?

I've been training for a long time, but haven't made much progress in the past few years. In addition, I was constantly on the lookout for the optimal, most efficient training program and tried many different variants before the before'n'after program at YPSI. Unfortunately with moderate success.
This only came about when I changed my training + diet according to Wolfgang's principles. So focus on compound exercise, animal protein for breakfast, carbohydrate limitation and supplementation based on the YPSI skinfold measurement. So I was able to reduce my weight from 102 to 94kg. Spurred on by this and based on the many positive reports in Wolfgang's blog, I then decided to book the Before'n'After program.

Which sport do you have before the Before'n'After program

The last few years exclusively strength training in the studio with a classic 3-part split. Early long-distance running – 10,000m. But that was quite a while ago.

What motivated you to start and follow the program?

As described above, these were the first successes after the change based on the book "Your best training" and the tips from Wolfgang's blog. And of course the enormous before'n'after successes, which I viewed with a little skepticism at first, but can now also confirm from my own experience.

How did your sleep develop during the program?

Very good - I usually fall asleep quickly and feel like I have more energy in the morning. Even on weekends, I usually get up between 6 and 7 a.m. and am therefore often one of the first in the studio.

How did your energy level develop during the program?

This is also a big step forward in the last 6 months. During the day I'm much fitter, more energetic and the - sometimes severe - midday slump is a thing of the past.

What was the biggest change for you?

The transition was surprisingly easy for me. There is no radical change from today to tomorrow, but a step-by-step approach. However, giving up sweets is not always easy. A bit of dark chocolate can creep in at the weekend. But within certain limits, yes.

What's your favorite breakfast?

Beef carpaccio with a good dash of olive oil.

How often and for how long did you train?

4 times a week, maximum one hour each

What is your favorite exercise?

I prefer to train legs and back, i.e. squats and pull-ups. Incidentally, I used to do pull-ups rather rarely and reluctantly.

Have you also done endurance training to lose fat?

No – only strength training.

What is the reaction of your environment to the change in the last few weeks/months?

I get asked about it more often. From formerly 102 to now around 85kg is a decent chunk. Recently, however, I've often heard that I could put on a few more pounds. But fits to the next goal - see the following question.

And what happens now?

The program will be continued with a new goal: gaining weight from 85.5 to 90 kg while staying below 10% body fat. On the squat, I want to get to 300lbs for a clean rep. I will also take part in the YPSI-B license seminars in March.

Back to blog