Before’n’After #114 Interview – Iva Jirsikova

Before'n'After #114 Interview – Iva Jirsikova

Iva Jirsikova works in project management at a large automobile manufacturer in Bavaria. In addition to a full working day, she is enthusiastic about training and healthy nutrition. After completing the YPSI Trainer B license at the end of last year, she decided to start the Before'n'After program. And come to the YPSI in Stuttgart once a month. Get a new exercise, nutrition and supplement plan for the YPSI skinfold measurement and based on the progress and results of the past month. Her goal was to reduce body fat and increase muscle mass.

In the past four months, she has halved her body fat percentage and gained a few kilos of muscle mass. In addition to a significant increase in strength and performance in the squat, you can now do pull-ups for repetitions and with additional weight for the first time. When it came to diet, it was mostly the increase in carbohydrate consumption that made all the difference for you.

Her goal now is to lose a few percent and gain a few pounds of muscle and then compete in a natural bodybuilding competition in the fall. Iva is highly motivated and I look forward to her future successes...

Tell us a little bit about yourself and your everyday life

My name is Iva Jirsikova, I'm 29 years old and I'm originally from the Czech Republic. I have been living in Germany for seven years and work in process and project management at AUDI AG in Ingolstadt. Due to the high work pace and my passion for a healthy lifestyle, fitness and nutrition, my schedule is 120% full, which I like. During the week there is not much time left apart from work, training, cooking and meeting friends from time to time. At the weekend I still enjoy reading, further education and traveling.

How did you come across the Before'n'After program?

I became aware of Wolfgang through the recommendation of Lars Ziegelhöfer, a person and trainer I greatly admire. As a result, I have attended numerous seminars by Wolfgang and got to know his methods and skills. As a result, it has become my great wish to be coached by Wolfgang.

Which sport did you do before the Before'n'After program?

I played basketball intensively until I was 20 years old. As a result, sport has become a part of my everyday life. During my studies in Germany, basketball was replaced by the dream sport of beach volleyball. At the same time, I always liked to attend functional training, cross-fit and yoga.

I did strength training with Wolfgang for nine months before BnA and I was enthusiastic about it even back then, because you can make visible progress with structured strength training.

What motivated you to start and follow the program?

My high fitness goals and the opportunity to learn from Wolfgang. In addition to 6 pull-ups and squats "above my body weight", the fitness goals also include participation in bikini fitness competitions in Europe. In addition, I think it's great to have personal support and a fitness guide and to fill myself up with energy and happiness every day. Health and good fitness are the cornerstones of a fulfilling and happy life. So the next motivator was to stay fit 365 days a year and to be able to pass on the “lessons learned” to other people.

How did your sleep develop during the program?

My sleep has gotten deeper. Due to the intensive training and the demanding everyday work, I would like to be able to sleep longer from time to time, which unfortunately doesn't always work out. So far I still find my energy level and regeneration sufficient.

How did your energy level develop during the program?

My energy level has definitely increased both on the training area and in everyday work!

What was the biggest change for you?

Training-wise, the two additional structured interval sessions represented the biggest adjustments. However, being able to run outside twice a week was a great change. Nutritionally, I was surprisingly allowed to eat a lot more carbohydrates and less fat. That wasn't a problem either

What's your favorite breakfast?

Difficult to say as I really enjoy every breakfast. It could be corn-fed chicken with pumpkin puree, or salmon with dill and roasted hazelnuts. A variety of different vegetables should never be missing.

How often and for how long did you train?

Six times a week, four times strength training and two interval sprints. A training session lasted an average of 75 minutes including warm-up.

What is your favorite exercise?

My hate exercise, pull-ups, has become my favorite exercise. That's when I celebrate each new repetition the most, but I also get annoyed when my performance stagnates from time to time J

Have you also done endurance training to lose fat?

Not really, just strength training and intervals.

What is the reaction of your environment to the change in the last few weeks/months?

I am always very happy about every compliment. In my working environment I have been asked several times when I will give the first personal training :)

And what happens now?

I would like to continue to increase my fitness performance under the supervision of Wolfgang, to learn new things and to work in the fitness/health area to help others on the way to being fit and happy. I really enjoy the way and am always looking forward to every next check in Stuttgart (with a bit of nervousness about the next results :)!

At this point many thanks to Wolfgang!

Back to blog