Before’n’After #99 Interview – Alexander Schanz

Before'n'After #99 Interview – Alexander Schanz

Tell us a little bit about yourself and your everyday life

I'm 38 years old and I'm the plant coordinator for the Bosch production system at Bosch Rexroth AG. Professionally, I have little movement in my job, I go to meetings, workshops or work at my office workplace. At the same time, I completed my bachelor's degree in a part-time course.

How did you come across the Before'n'After program?

I bought Wolfgang Unsöld's first book " Your Best Training " and the before and after photos made me aware of the "Before and After Program". At first I thought that such changes are not realistic in such a short time until I tried the program myself.

Which sport did you do before the Before'n'After program?

Since I was 18 years old I have been training in the gym with more or less success. At that time I started with 52.5 kg and a height of 180 cm. The first improvements were quickly noticeable over the years and my body weight increased to 70 kg. In the last few years I haven't been able to make any progress and my body has changed to "skinny fat" due to office work.

What motivated you to start and follow the program?

After my 3-year part-time bachelor's degree, my body was getting more and more out of shape and so I started to train with Wolfgang Unsöld before I finished my studies. That moment was one of the key moments in my life. There was constant progression from month to month without plateaus or setbacks, which spurred me on even more to keep going and never give up. My energy level increased month by month. The 3-4 week appointments at the Your Personal Strength Institute in Stuttgart motivated me to continue. Each appointment includes a skinfold measurement and analysis. The measurement of 13 skin folds is taken as a success accounting that reflects my current training progress in meaningful data.

How did your sleep develop during the program?

My sleep has become deeper, firmer and therefore extremely restful, which in turn was clearly noticeable in my shorter regeneration after the hard training sessions.

How did your energy level develop during the program?

At the beginning I was exhausted and lost energy in the morning. Most of the time I left the house without breakfast and drank 2-3 coffee cups to get going. Now I wake up partially rested without an alarm clock. I have more energy throughout the day and no longer slump in performance, and even after lunch I don't fall into the "lunch slump" we all know.

What was the biggest change for you?

The Diet Change. Food and lifestyle are the most important things to bring about changes in the body. The sleep, supplements and training support the whole thing, without the basic it doesn't work. The step-by-step approach helped me a lot with the change in diet. In the gyms where I trained, I was always given nutrition plans with exact information about what and how much I should eat. With Wolfgang Unsöld's concept, tiresome weighing and counting calories is a thing of the past. I keep getting asked that if I want to lose weight I have to be in a calorie deficit. To me utter nonsense you just have to eat the right food intelligently at the right time.

What's your favorite breakfast?

Breakfast is the mirror of all meals. In the last few months, 3 favorites have emerged. Stremel salmon with guacamole. Homemade grilled burger patties with cheese, avocado and bacon or sometimes just nuts and the last favorite is lamb steaks along with scrambled eggs. My wife initially thought I was crazy but now she eats animal protein for breakfast in the morning after noticing my stomach changing for the better.

How often and for how long did you train?

Disciplined less than 1 hour at first 3-4 times a week and now 4 times a week.

What is your favorite exercise?

All basic exercises such as squats, pull-ups, bench press and dips.

Have you also done endurance training to lose fat?


What is the reaction of your environment to the change in the last few weeks/months?

Friends noticed the larger muscles in the chest and shoulders and of course my new six-pack.

And what happens now?

My goal so far was to get my body fat percentage below 10%. The next step is to pack on a good amount of muscle mass with a body fat percentage of less than 6%. I have also obtained my YPSI trainer B license and would like to deepen my knowledge in further seminars.

Back to blog